Skip to content

Sea Turtles Baby Quilt

October 17, 2009

turtle fabricturtle pattern fabricMy niece has requested a sea turtle baby quilt.  I loved the idea but then spent months trying to find the perfect fabric and a pattern.  I remembered seeing a sea turtle pattern but could not find the pattern when I finally found the perfect fabric so I printed out some sea turtle pictures, enlarged them and created my own pattern fashioned after the pattern I remembered seeing.  A few weeks back I drew them out on Wonder Under, cut them out and ironed them onto fabric squares.  Today, I finally got around to zig-zagging the edges.  Now, I’m ready to put the blocks together but I’m still trying to decide what type of eyes I would would to put on the turtles.  My first thought was black seed beads, then my second thought was….not baby user-friendly!  So, before I put the blocks together I will either french knot the eyes on by hand or use a stitch from my sewing machine.  The baby was born this last May…..so I need to get this quilt finished before winter!  But, in all honesty, they live in Sacramento, CA where it really doesn’t get that cold!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

