Skip to content

Hiking in Oklahoma

November 30, 2009

This is a picture of Chickasaw National Park at Sulphur, Oklahoma. This is NOT my picture because I took a perfectly DEAD BATTERY camera with me! Talk about upset! I did capture a few shots on my phone so as soon as I figure out how to download from the phone to the computer, I’ll insert more photos. My sister and I went hiking in this park on Friday…yes, Black Friday….to avoid the crowds. The weather was perfect.

Before we hiked we found an antique store in Sulphur and browsed through the treasures and junk. I found a butter dish for $5.00 but discovered I didn’t have any cash on me and they refused to take a debit card without a $15.00 purchase! So, I added and $5.00 jar of cherry jelly made by the Amish in Missouri and the the deal was sealed. After leaving the antique store we went hiking.

As we were leaving we decided to find a place to eat…well, we drove past all of the fast food restaurants in Sulphur and headed to Davis in hopes of finding a good eating establishment. On Main Street in Davis we found Burgerland. The name hides the fact that it’s a full-fledged diner. I ordered chicken fried chicken with mashed potatoes, corn and a salad. My sister ordered the chicken fried steak meal. Ummmmmm….so good! Excellent food at a reasonable price.

It was a fun day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2009 8:53 pm

    Great idea, thanks for this tip!

  2. January 10, 2010 4:43 pm

    Sounds like a fun day! And, what a beautiful place!

Leave a Reply

