Skip to content

Making tea towels…

December 14, 2009

Our family went to a “homemade” Christmas last year! It love it. It takes all of the pressure off me to try to buy gifts on a tight budget. So…..I’ve been working the last month or so knitting and sewing up gifts for my family. Above are pictures of tea towels that I’m making for a lucky person! I’m embroidering these designs on muslin. When the embroidery is finished, I will press the pieces, fold under 1/2 on the long raw edges, apply piping and sew the strip on the bottom of the towels a couple of inches above the bottom edge of the towels. I made the towels from homespun fabric purchased at Hobby Lobby. It’s super easy. All you have to do is buy one yard of homespun fabric. Wash and dry it. Cut the fabric in half along the fold, cut off the selvages and cut to 30″ length. You will have two pieces of fabric 22″ x 30″, enough for two towels. Fold under all edges approx. 1/2″, and tuck in the raw edge to form a 1/4″ seam. Press and sew the edges down. Note: If you want to attached a band for decorations, you can use regular fabric or embroidered fabric. ***If you are making a band, do not sew down the sides of the towel until you have sewn the band into place! I’ll post pictures of the finished towels when I’m finished.

PS I cheat on the piping, I cut bias strips (you can use straight edge strips) that are cut 1″ wide, fold in half and press. Layer it under the edge of the decorative fabric strip letting 1/8 to 1/4″ of bias stick out and top stitch into place.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

