Skip to content

Locker Hooking

December 23, 2009

Well, this picture came out dark, but I hope you can see the beginnings of a locker hook rug. I’m using my scrap quilt fabrics to make this red, white and blue rug for my kitchen. I have made traditional wool hooked rugs before, but this method is different. For locker hooking you actually use a huge hook that looks like a crochet hook on one end and a large-eye needle on the other. You thread worsted weight cotton yarn through the hook, pull up your loops like you would with traditional hooking and pull the yarn through. The yarn ‘locks’ the fabric into place. The backing is the same as for latch hooked rugs. I drew pictures of stars on xerox paper, placed it under the backing and used the black magic marker to draw the designs on the backing. There are many web-sites that demonstrate locker hooking of you’re interesting in learning this method of rug making. The bonus of this type of rug making is that it’s cheap! My hook was less than $4.00 at Hobby Lobby and the backing came in a large package for $8.00 at Michaels, but I used a 50% off coupon and I’m using yarn and fabric from my stash! If you have ever made a rag rug like this, I’d love to see pictures!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

