Skip to content

Winter Quilting Projects

January 4, 2010

A new project! After work today I’m heading to the store to buy the embroidery floss and fabric for this quilt: Afternoon Tea by Black Cat Creations. I kept watching this pattern on ebay, but it was $36.00…”too rich for my blood” and then one day I realized that it was for the machine embroidery version so then I found the hand version for only $14.50! Sooooo much cheaper!

And, I cut out this cute quilt this last weekend….I’m not using pastels, I’m using two coordinating strawberry prints for the sashings on the 15″ wide borders and a berry color for all of the flowers.

I finally finished this project that I started a couple of years ago. Can you see why it’s so important to pay attention to the color order????? Oh well! I still like it and I’m using this as a table topper on the breakfast table. I think I’d like to do some more paper piecing. Carol Doak’s Yahoo Group has tons of free star patterns and others. Another lesson I learned on this quilt…I LOVE batiks but didn’t have enough batiks in my stash to make this with the bright colors so I included other cotton fabric that was much thicker. It was hard to use two different weights and almost impossible to make the heavier fabric behave the same way as the batik….I guess I’m lucky it was just a small table topper and NOT a huge bed quilt! (still grinning)

My first order of business at the machine is to finish Preston’s Oklahoma Quilt….I’m so close….I have a few more blocks to finish and then it will be ready to baste. I’m going to hand quilt this special quilt! Hopefully next weekend I’ll get it to the point that it’s ready to begin quilting! I’m ready for a hand quilting project.

Too bad I have to work today…I would have loved to have another day at home to work on my projects….but it’s going to be a busy week at work so the projects will have to wait!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 4:16 pm

    These are Great. It is so interesting to see these from around the world. Maybe You’ll find something interesting in my blog.

Leave a Reply

