Skip to content

Unexpected Quilting Time

January 8, 2010

Oklahoma City Public Schools, my employer, closed their doors yesterday and today due to extremely cold temperatures in the metro area. So….I received the gift of two extra days of quilting pleasure! I spent half of a day wrapped in a blanket on the couch with a huge mug of coffee and a stack of old quilt magazines because I wasn’t feeling well. Then, I spent an hour or so playing around with a paper pieced star pattern but decided I didn’t care for the pattern so I’ll make the one single star block into a pot holder. Then I spent hours looking through the Quilter’s Cache site and downloaded a couple of patterns. Next I roamed through the internet and found another great pattern that I’ll use for my Christmas charm packs and another pattern that I’ll use for my batik fat quarter bundles….BUT, in the mean time, I will make myself finish piecing together my son’s Oklahoma quilt. I found four blocks that have not been finished! Two had to be cut out, one had to be drawn on adhesive paper and cut out. I have that block, the scissortail flycatcher ready to iron onto the background fabric this morning. I have three blocks cut out and ready to piece. I hope to have the whole quilt pieced together and ready to baste by the end of the weekend. I will hand quilt this special quilt. Now….since I’ve moved into such a small apartment….I’m trying to figure out where in the world I can go to lay out the layers to baste (actually pin) the layers together to get it ready to quilt. My apartment is much too small…I need a place that has tables I can push together so I’m not crawling all over the floor. I may have to call the quilt shop and see if I may use their classroom for an hour to get this quilt basted together. I might see if I can go over to my church and borrow a classroom for an hour. If anyone has a better solution…PLEASE let me know!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 11:06 am

    Again one great, lovely looking quilt!

  2. Sharon permalink
    January 29, 2010 11:29 pm

    I bet Patchwork Place would let you borrow a table if it wasn’t time for classes. They are super nice. I love that place!!!

Leave a Reply

