Skip to content

Kreativ Blogger Award

March 14, 2010

My friend Cheryl has gifted me with the Kreativ Blogger Award. I was surprised and honored that she would choose my blog. Thank you Cheryl! I’m glad that I can bring enjoyment and inspiration to others! I used to teach different crafts at a store in Norman called Cloth World. I believe Cloth World was either closed or purchased by Joann’s Fabrics and they closed the Norman Store. I taught beadwork, crocheting, quilting, smocking, heirloom sewing and other crafts such as making dreamcatchers, etc. I miss teaching classes because I miss sharing with others. I have a wonderful knitting group that meets every week but we mostly concentrate on knitting. I used to belong to a spinning group but haven’t attending spinning in a few years except for the occassional fiber festival. So, to me, my blog is my way of sharing.

Here are the rules for receiving this award:

1. Thank the person who gave this to you.
2. Copy the logo and place it on your blog.
3. Link the person who nominated you.
4. Name 7 things about yourself that no one would really know.
5. Nominate seven ‘Kreativ Bloggers’.
6. Post links to the seven blogs you nominate.
7. Leave a comment on each of the blogs letting them know you nominated them.

So….7 things about me? I can do that, but 7 things others would not know????

1. I was born into a Catholic family but at the age of 12 my family began attending a Baptist church after moving to Oklahoma and now, at the age of 50 I began attending a Catholic Church again. I mention this because I find inspiration in every place I go. I see inspiration for quilts when I look at the stained glass windows. Today, after church my sister and I were looking at the rosaries and rather than buy one, I told my sister I wanted to make my own and that I would teach her how to make hers. We would save money and it would be very special. So, I find inspiration in everything I do and everywhere I go.

2. My very first hobby as a child was water color painting and it’s still my favorite medium for painting. Now, my paints are still the brick paints, but they are the high-quality professional paints from England. I am drawn to oil paintings in museums but my favorite is still water colors and I can spend hours trying to figure out how an artist manipulated the paints in their artwork.

3. Beadwork was my second hobby I learned as a child. I was at Girl Scout summer camp and they had a little store. I spent all of my money at one time on a bead loom. You know, the old wire bead looms that were mass-produced for years? I spent hours and hours on that loom, always somehow managing to buy more beads. They were always the cheap, imperfect beads from China but I always got excited when I found new colors at the Five and Dime store! As an adult it was hard to find good quality beads and I found a distributor in Czechoslovakia and bought my beads from him until they closed the borders at which time, I found some Native American stores that still had stocks of Czech. beads. Now, it’s extremely easy to find good quality beads from Japan. I have so many beads it’s not even funny and I have a nice loom that I made myself that’s wide enough to make a pictures, belts, hatbands, bracelets, etc. and I have all the gadgets that go with beadworking, magazines, books and patterns galore. And, I still get just as excited over beads as I did as a child.

4. Most people may not know that I used to sew professionally. I made gowns for the Miss America pagent, I made cheerleader uniforms for entire school districts, I made the flag carrier uniforms for the girls at the University of Oklahoma for seven years, I made mammogram capes for hospitals, I made the uniforms for the pom squards in central Oklahoma….and I absolutely hated every single minute of it. It was not fun, it was not creative. It was pure torture. It was back-breaking work that took hours upon hours to complete as I worked alone and I absolutely thought I would die one summer when I realized I truely hated my life. I looked at the stacks upon stacks of bolts of fabric and I made a solemn promise to myself that if I survived that summer I would never, ever, ever, ever sign another contract or agree to sew for another individual as long as I lived. To this day, I only sew for pleasure and when friends ask about alterations, I tell them nicely but firmly that I don’t do alterations, ever! No exceptions!

5. My first quilt I ever made was a quilt made from polyester/cotton fabric. I backed it with a navy blue sheet (big mistake). It was blues and I hand-tied the quilt with cute little 1/8″ wide ribbon that promptly shredded in the washer every single time I washed the quilt. My oldest son loved that quilt and slept with it constantly until the inside batting shifted and the seams started shredding….it finally went into the garage and was used at the park for picnic’s and such until the day it finally had to be put to rest in the garbage can! I learned an important lesson from that first quilt: Always use 100% cotton fabric and never tie off a quilt with silk/rayon ribbons! I always hand quilt my larger quilts and I often machine quilt my smaller wall hangings and table runners and I never, ever use a bed sheet to back a quilt!

6. The first full-size quilt I ever made was for my grandmother. It was made with a forest green cotton print and muslin. I used the log cabin pattern and made it a queen size quilt. I hand quilted it using the stitch in the ditch effect. I presented the quilt to my grandmother one time when she was in the hospital and she started crying saying it should be the other way around, she should be sewing for me! When my grandmother passed away the quilt came back to me and my oldest son promptly claimed it for himself. When he was home on leave while in the Marines, the first thing he said he wanted to take back with him was his quilt. It has followed him around the US and to this day he still uses it on his bed. Nothing can replace a good homemade quilt!

7. I love the outdoors. I love science. I should have majored in science or math in college. When I was in high school I always loved science and took every single class they offered. I found it fascinating and couldn’t figure out why others hated science. I won a science fair contest when I was a sophmore in high school. Then, in college, I took the minimum hours required. Why? Lack of funds and time. I would have loved to have majored in a science field. Maybe something that has to do with outdoors. I once found a web site, that is no longer on-line, that a woman ran where she was constantly outside in the wilderness finding plants and experimenting with using them as natural dyes for her wool fabric and fiber. I always thought she was so creative and inventive. Some of her experiments produced little results but I can’t say that anything was ever a failure because she learned from each and every experiment! I wish I were more like that lady. It’s so easy now to buy commerical dyes and I often wonder how healthy it is to have these dyes around us. I know they produce such great, intense colors but there’s something to be said for doing something in a more healthy, natural way. It’s kind of like when I did leather work, I would try to buy the brain-tanned hides rather than the commerically tanned hides. They were so much softer and easier to work with, even though they were often double and triple in price, I always felt like it was worth the extra money!

Now….this evening I will post the seven people I have chosen to pass this award on to….until then…hope you have a great day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 11:27 pm

    I’m like that too…when I see something I like, I try and figure out how I can make it instead of buying it. Have fun with making your Rosary. 🙂 I went to a lady’s house one time and we experimented with dying things with plants in her back yard. It was a lot of fun. I’m looking forward to reading about your nominees. 🙂

Leave a Reply

