Skip to content

Medieval Fair in Norman, Oklahoma

March 29, 2010

Well….I sort of had my day planned out….you know, washing clothes, cutting out my new jacket pattern and sewing…..welllllll……you know what they say about the best laid plans????? My son and my sister wanted to go to the Medieval Fair, which was held earlier this year than in years past, so I went along with them. If you want to be amused for the day, this is the place to be….you see the strangest sights and then some! I saw a Dachshund dog dressed at a dragon…now THAT was cute! We had Dan’s Famous Indian Tacos…only the fry bread was horrible, flat and hardwhich surprises me considering it was a Dan’s Indian Taco! I was craving a hand-squeezed lemonade but the booths wanted $5 and I only had $3 left to spend so I settled for some sweet tea for $3. Fair food is almost as inflated as theatre food. But…..we spent a few hours over there and had a good time. The weather was fair and perfect with a lightweight jacket. I think my three favorite events were: (1) The hand-cranked spinning machine that had four chairs in a cross from each other with a hand crank in front of each chair. Each rider pushed the crank forward and backwards to make the ride spin. (2) The hand-cranked swings. The hassock style swings for children were hung and in the center, the gears were visible and two men, using muscle power, were spinning a round wheel that turned the gears to spin the swings….hard to explain but cool to watch. (3) Scottish band (have completely forgetten their names) played Scottish music with bagpipes. Fun!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sharon Gepner permalink
    March 30, 2010 6:20 pm

    Can you believe, I have lived here for 40 years and have never been to the Medieval Fair, even when I worked at OU. My kids go but I just haven’t made it there yet. I guess it must be pretty low on my list of priorities. ha.

Leave a Reply

