Skip to content

Sunday Artwork!

August 2, 2010

New picture for my dining room!

The entire wall!

I saw a picture similar to this at an antique store but another lady beat me to it so I snapped a picture and decided to make it for myself. I found the brushed flannel fabrics at County Collections by Hart in Moore, OK during their sale Saturday. Less than $10 for all of the fabric required. I found the frame at Michaels Sunday after church and rushed home to make my picture. It went quickly. I traced the inside of the picture frame so I’d know what size to make the picture, then began drawing up a design. I pieced it and blanket stitched it with my sewing machine. Then, I embroidered the words, the trees and heart on the door. I was pleased with the results…until I went to frame it and discovered I’d put the wrong words on it. What I meant to say was, “May our home always be to small to hold all of our family and friends.” But…I was tired and wanted to frame it so I thought, “It will have to do!” I just hope nobody sees this and takes it wrong! This was a quick project, completed in an afternoon! Now…I want to make another one using another saying and design. It fits in perfectly with my dining room decor of Americana/Primitive. The bottom photo shows the small wall this is hanging on. The blue stars in right hand corner look odd, but they serve a useful purpose….they are covering the phone jack plate!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 5:29 pm

    It’s really cute! Funny…I never noticed the mistake until you mentioned it. Are you planning to re-stitch and correct it?

Leave a Reply

