Skip to content

Fabric Coiled Bowl

November 11, 2010

I started this bowl a few years ago and after a dozen broken needles put it into a box for later. Well, I pulled out the box last night after work and decided to finish it. I had size 18 sharp needles and I was able to finish the bowl without a single broken needle. Now…to be perfectly honest, I had the wrong kind of rope. I used a hard poly cord that is almost impossible for needles to pierce. I have started another bowl using a soft cotton rope and it’s sewing up like a dream! It’s actually fun now! I’ll post a picture of the second bowl soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Theresa permalink
    November 11, 2010 2:26 pm

    The bowl came out beautiful. Can’t wait to give it a try.

  2. November 11, 2010 4:57 pm

    This bowl turned out great! And, I love the blue color! I haven’t made a project like this in years. Sounds like so much fun! đŸ˜€

    • November 12, 2010 11:01 pm

      Hi Cheryl,

      The blue bowl was hard to make and turned into more work, than fun.  But, I’m glad I finished it.  The second bowl, that I’m making with the soft rope is a joy to make, but now I wished I had used a different color.  It’s amazing when you look at the bowl and then the fabric it was made from…sometimes it looks cool and sometimes it’s just plain not very pretty!  My brown bowl is turning out “not so pretty” so I’m going to have to do something to finish it off to make it look snazzy!

      Vanessa

Leave a Reply

