Skip to content

Summer….

June 6, 2011

The garden is off to a good start! My son put in the garden. It’s not a large garden like he usually likes to plant but it’s a garden! We have zucchini, tomatoes, okra, 4 or 5 different varies of peppers, strawberries, green onions and I can’t remember what else is planted out there…maybe some herbs???

My summer break officially began Saturday! I am ready for this break! It’s been a long, hard year and to top it off, my wallet was stolen the last day of work. I was angry, I was upset. I am amazed that people can steal from others…how do they live with themselves…where’s the guilt? I am out so much money…not to mention the anger, frustration and hours it’s taking to replace identification, cancel accounts and deal with the bank! A part of me wants revenge, I want this low-life person to pay, I want to press charges if they catch her. But, the other part of me says, “Let it go, it’s not worth wasting energy on, just let it go and get on with your life.” The whole episode was been emotionally and physically draining so I have decided to try to stop worrying about it and just ‘let it go’. I guess the thing that puzzles me most is that I just cannot understand how people can live like that, be like that. I’ll never understand the mentality that some people feel like the world “owes” them a living. To me it’s just plain laziness.

I enrolled in summer school to begin working on another degree but last week decided I must wait until the fall so at the ripe old age of 52 I will return to college for another degree. The economy is not improving and even though our president has stated we are not in a recession…in the field of education, it feels like it! Another 4 1/2% cut from our budgets for next year along with the cuts from the past years…things are getting tight, jobs are being cut and we are feeling the squeeze. So, when I think about my career and the uncertainty of my job I began to realize that I’d better get more education to prepare for the future!

But…not to worry about the past…not to worry about the future…this is now, this is summer and I’m ready to relax and enjoy the few weeks I have off! My plans are to garden, sew, quilt, spin, knit, bead, bake and just plain enjoy my summer! I’m off to a good start with this weekend! Today, I plan to finish my new table topper and I’ll post pictures when it’s completed!

No comments yet

Leave a comment