Skip to content

New Quilting Machine!

July 31, 2011

New Tin Lizzie 18SD.

Picture of the whole quilt

Detail of Butterfly

Detail of border

Detail of Butterfly

Yesterday I finally received my new Tin Lizzie 18SD quilting machine. It is a sit-down model. I got the machine home, set it up and decided to practice on this quilt that I put together several years ago. It is so much fun! I can’t even compare how much easier it is to quilt with this machine than on my home sewing machine! I finished the quilt this morning and put the binding on by machine. I haven’t had a chance to wash and dry the quilt but I believe it will look much better after it’s been laundered. I used the thread that is on sale at Connecting Threads and it only took one spool. I had thread breakage twice while quilting, but honestly….it was probably user error and not thread quality, I will be ordering more of this thread.

I’m excited. my next quilt will be the coffee themed lap quilt I’m making for my sister.

And, in the mean time….here is sneak peak at the newest quilt I’m making:

This red, white and blue pile of fabric strips will become a bright happy quilt!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 1:56 am

    How exciting that your new sewing machine is here! I can’t believe how fast you were able to finish an entire quilt and binding! Incredible! Your next quilt looks fun…I love red, white and blue.

  2. August 2, 2011 9:14 pm

    Congrats on the new machine! I really like the quilt you showed. The combination of pale and bold colors works really well.

  3. November 10, 2012 12:58 am

    I tried locating an e-mail address but could not find one for you. Since this post is from 2011, I hope that you see this comment. I want to ask you about your Tin Lizzie now that you have had it for over a year. I am considering buying one and am currently researching the machine and reviews.
    Thanks in advance for any info you may supply.
    June in AZ
    stitchedbyme.wordpress.com
    (e-mail addy is on my blog sidebar)

    • November 10, 2012 9:26 am

      HI June,

      I do love the machine but I should say that I’ve only made about ten projects so far on the machine. I do not have the space for the frames so my machine is the sit-down model and I love quilting with this machine. Evenually, when I move to a bigger place I’ll buy the frame with the rails so I won’t have to baste quilt layers together.

Leave a Reply

