Skip to content

5.6 M Earth Quake in Oklahoma….

November 6, 2011

I can guess that most Oklahoman’s do not have earth quake insurance! We are usually protected against tornados.
Last night at 10:53pm I woke up to a rumbling sound with my bed shaking and I instantly thought “tornado.” My experience is with tornados but I quickly realized it wasn’t loud enough. I looked out the window to confirm my thought and realized it was an earth quake. We’ve had earth quakes in the last year or so but this is the first one I actually felt this strongly. Last school year we had one about ten miles east of where I live and we could feel the rumbling in SW Oklahoma City where I worked. Last night was a surprise. It was strong enough to ripple and buckle one of our back highways near the epi-center. Just the oddest sensation!

Earthquake Details
This event has been reviewed by a seismologist.

Magnitude 5.6

Date-Time
Sunday, November 06, 2011 at 03:53:10 UTC
Saturday, November 05, 2011 at 10:53:10 PM at epicenter
Time of Earthquake in other Time Zones

Location 35.537°N, 96.747°W

Depth 5 km (3.1 miles)

Region OKLAHOMA

Distances 34 km (21 miles) NNE of Shawnee, Oklahoma
63 km (39 miles) SSE of Stillwater, Oklahoma
68 km (42 miles) ESE of Guthrie, Oklahoma
71 km (44 miles) ENE of OKLAHOMA CITY, Oklahoma

Location Uncertainty horizontal +/- 10.5 km (6.5 miles); depth +/- 2.8 km (1.7 miles)

Parameters NST=189, Nph=192, Dmin=26.7 km, Rmss=1.06 sec, Gp= 29°,
M-type=centroid moment magnitude (Mw), Version=C

Source

Magnitude: USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)
Location: USGS NEIC (WDCS-D)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

