Skip to content

Family, good food, good wine and beautiful weather…it doesn’t get much better, except…

November 25, 2011

Yesterday was a day for bittersweet memories. I hosted Thanksgiving dinner at my home and it was good, an excellent meal, great wine (and yes, we had white and blush for the true bird/wine traditionalists), relaxed atmosphere but my oldest son is still in North Carolina so it was a day of mixed blessings. The greatest gift is that he will be home in time for Christmas! Jarrod and Carey have not stated an exact date but have promised to be here by Christmas which is just a few short weeks away. They are still tying up loose ends on their home. I forgot to pull out the camera so I didn’t get any pictures but I won’t make that mistake during Christmas! So, I’m sitting here planning ahead and thinking about all the preparations, the decorations, the gifts to buy…and wonder WHY I’m still sitting here on Black Friday in my pj’s! I know, deep down inside it’s because I absolutely hate crowds and I know that anywhere I go today I’ll have to deal with this problem of course so, my strategy is to give the early birds a chance to clear out but knowing deep down inside that it’s not a valid strategy with merit but simply a flaw in my character that chooses to procastinate the inevitable! Okay…first stop is at the fabric store, then Barnes & Noble, then the teen store in Moore for my niece, then the new outlet mall in far NW Oklahoma Ciy….I can do this! So…I’ll sign off for now and brave the elements (of people and crowds…not weather) and hope it doesn’t begin raining until I make it safely back home again! Now….where’s my checkbook?

Excerpt from KLWines.com:

2007 Louis M. Martini Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
SKU #1062120

91 points Robert Parker: “… this estate does some stunning work in Napa as evidenced by one of the great values in Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon, the 2007 Cabernet Sauvignon Napa. Made from 82% Cabernet Sauvignon, 10% Merlot and the rest Petite Sirah and Petit Verdot, this stunning wine can undoubtedly be found discounted to under $25 a bottle. Moreover, there are nearly 66,000 cases produced, so it one of the few outstanding Napa Cabernets that also has tremendous availability. Its dense plum/garnet color is followed by a stunning perfume of black currants, loamy soil, blackberries and smoke. The wine cuts a full-bodied swath across the palate and possesses silky tannins, layers of fruit and a beautiful, opulent, round mouthfeel. It should drink nicely for 10-15 years. Readers may remember that I gave the 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon Napa 90 points, and the 2007 is even better!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

