Skip to content

Winter Knitting

December 12, 2011

Jared Flood’s Turn a Square Hat made slouchy

Traditional Gansey Socks from Paton’s Kroy FX sock yarn

Well, I’m finally finding time to sit and knit again! I just finished a few hats but forgot to snap pictures before I gave away the hats. I just took this hat off the needles a week ago and happened to snap a picture along with the socks I finished this morning. I’m not too impressed with this sock yarn. The sample swatch hanging from the rack in the same color way looked so much better…mine looks dull and plain. The yarn is a little rougher than I prefer to use when knitting. Also, as a word of caution, if you plan to use this yarn for socks I would suggest that you buy three skeins rather than two. I finshed with less than 18″ of yarn left over on each sock! I would have preferred to make the leg longer but honestly….I didn’t love this yarn enough to run out and look for another skein in the same dyelot to make it longer! The pattern is called Traditional Gansey from Wendy Johnson’s book Socks from the Toe Up. Her patterns, as usual, are easy to read and easy to follow. This is the second pair of socks I’ve knit from her book. I have her other book called something like Toe Up Socks for Everyone but haven’t knit from that book yet. I did see a new book at the Barnes and Noble today called Soctopus or something like that that looked to have some cool patterns but I wanted to check my other books to make sure I’m not repeating myself in patterns…since I LOVE to buy sock knitting books….I probably have all of those patterns in my other books already!!!! Plus I have two brand new skeins of Cascade Heritage sock yarn in Black and one in White for lace knitting. I also have two other new skeins in watercolor ways by other companies….can’t remember which but they are waiting to be knit!

The hat is by Jared Flood called Turn a square…I can’t tell you how many times I’ve used this pattern…too many times to count for sure! This hat was knit for ten inches before beginning to crown to make it more of a slouchy hat. I also knit another hat using this same pattern out of a sock weight yarn and it was really slouchy but I didn’t like the way it turned out in the lighter weight. The ribbing kept wanting to curl but I gave it to my younger son and he’ll wear it or pass it on to a friend…hats never go to waste around here.

I also went out and did a little shopping today. I’m grinning because it’s easy when I’m buying gift cards rather than trying to pick out gifts! I also bought a little kit at Patchwork Place Quilt Shop in Norman, Oklahoma today. The kit is to make coasters for wine glasses. The kit included the fabric and batting with instructions and enough to make four coasters. The fabric was black with sparkly “glitter” and white with silver “glitter”. I thought it would make a cute Christmas gift for someone with a bottle of wine. I’ve already made the coasters and now just need to trim the edges and turn them and they are ready. Now…a quick trip to the Wine Cellar in Norman and the gift will be complete. Unless I decide to buy a set of wine glasses to go along with the gift! Hmmmm….wonder how late Ross is open today? They always seem to have unique crystal wine glasses for sale. I am just about finished with my shopping…I need to do one last check to make sure I have everyone covered….and one more gift certificate from McNellie’s Irish Pub in Norman and my shopping will be complete! Now….who can motivate me to put up my Christmas tree?

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 11:37 pm

    Cute hat and pretty socks! Sounds like you’re doing great with your Christmas “to-do” list. I don’t have much done and I’m having trouble getting into the festive, Christmas mood. I’d much rather just curl up on the couch to knit and crochet stuff on my yarny, want-to-do list. 😉

Leave a Reply

