Skip to content

Time slips away……

March 26, 2012

Time seems to fly by around here lately. I can hardly believe it’s been over a month since my last post. I’ve been on spring break for the last two weeks. I took one week to spend in the Kansas City, Missouri area with family and I took this last week to quilt, run errands, etc. I have started a new quilt using a pattern that I purchased at my favorite quilt shop in Missouri, Quilter’s Depot in Lee’s Summitt. The pattern is called Hawaiian Delight by Edyta Starr. I’m making mine using a red center block with cream and black prints for the rest of the block. The store has a sample quilt hanging up by the door and I’ve admired the quilt the last few times I shopped there so I finally decided I must have one for myself. The pattern makes a 60″ x 60″ quilt with 64 blocks, I’m making my quilt double that size with 125 blocks. I completed three squares to test the pattern and now I’m making them in an assembly type order. All of round A and B together, then all of round C on every block, etc. It seems to be moving faster and I’m not shuffling through the baggies that hold my cut fabric as much. This quilt will take quite a bit of time as each strip is cut 1″ wide so I have a finished 1/2″ strip of fabric. But, if you could see the finished product you would know why I’ve decided to tackle this project! I did decided during the cutting and beginnnig sewing stages of this project that quilting is like beadwork or painting, you can NEVER have too many colors! I made a few more trips to different quilt shops to enhance my scraps for this quilt!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2012 4:20 pm

    This is going to be a beautiful quilt! Happy sewing! 🙂

  2. April 13, 2012 10:15 am

    So lovely looking quilt!

    Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

