Skip to content

Spring Bouquet

September 23, 2012

Spring Bouquet

Spring Bouquet Quilt by Edyta Sitar

This is the new pattern that I’m so excited to begin making. It is made entirely of batiks. It is offered as a block of the month with the applique pieces already lazer cut ready to iron onto the fabric but….it is very expensive so Oklahoma Quiltworks in Oklahoma City ordered the pattern for me for $25.00. I have a batik stash so I’m making my quilt without the monthly kits. The trip to Hennessee yesterday was to buy the background fabric but I’m not totally sold on the goldish background and wanted something lighter, even with the palest hint of blue, green (mossy green not sea green), pink or yellow. Unfortunately it was not to be found! This quilt finishes at 72″ x 72″ but mine will be a queen or king size quilt, so another reason to not buy the block of the month kits (besides the high price) is the ability to make the size I want! I believe I want mine to be closer to 100″ x 100″. So…I’ll be putting together some extra blocks…probably one more row across and one more row down. I purchased five yards of ultra bond lite with plans to do raw edge applique. This week JoAnn fabrics has their Coats and Clark thread that is normally $2.79 a spool for only $1.00 a spool so now I’m trying to decide if I want to invest in 30 spools of thread or stick with the monofilament clear thread in clear and smokey! I almost want the regular thread so I know this quilt will last as I’m not totally convinced that the monofilament thread will last the test of time! I also looked at the varigated threads so I wouldn’t have to buy as many spools. I’m leaning toward buying good quality varigated cotton thread. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

