Skip to content

Basket Making Class

March 11, 2013

It was too plain so I decorated it a bit.

It was too plain so I decorated it a bit.

Theresa at classMy basket inprogressTheresa's basket in progressBasket in progressBasket Making Class

My sister and I signed up for a basket making class at the National Cowboy Hall of Fame yesterday. I love baskets and admire the handcrafted unique baskets but never thought I’d enjoy making them myself. At the quilt show in January the basket weaving guild in Oklahoma had a booth and offered a free class so I signed my sister and I up for the class. It was yesterday and we made a 7″ x 7″ x 4″ napkin basket. The class was fun and we both enjoyed learning to weave baskets but now we want to make more! There is a shop here in Oklahoma in Welston, OK, about an hour from my home so my goal next week is to go to the shop and buy supplies to make more baskets! I’m excited but also I keep looking at my basket and it seems a little plain to me so I want to decorate the basket so I can tell that I’m already thinking about dying reeds! I plan to change mine, I’d like some red on the basket with a rusty star or something hanging on the front with twine. Maybe I could sprintz it with coffee to stain it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 11, 2013 4:37 am

    Your basket looks great! How fun! I’ve always wanted to weave baskets too. It seems like it would be a lot of fun. I’m amazed that the class was free.

Leave a Reply

