Skip to content

Newest Hobby ***Basketry

March 20, 2013

Basket 3Basket 2Basket 1

My sister and I drove to Wellston, OK on Saturday to the basket shop, ‘Oklahoma Basket Supply’ and the owner helped us pick out supplies for making more baskets. I probably went overboard on my purchases but once I got into the shop and saw all of the cool baskets I wanted to make them all! The basket with the star is the basket from my class. The round basket shows the basket I made Saturday night. This basket is made with a slotted wooden base. It’s crooked and it’s driving me crazy so I probably should make a liner (my sister’s suggestion) or fill it with a fake flower arrangement. The third basket I made today. It’s not quite finished but I’ll finish it up tomorrow. It’s a business card holder for my desk. This is fun and I have enough reed to make probably 20 or more baskets and many patterns and handles to make a hearth basket and a wine carrier. Yep…it’s official…I have a new hobby and I still don’t have enough time for the hobbies I had previously…but one thing I can always say, “I”m NEVER bored!”

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 17, 2013 3:50 pm

    How fun! I’ve always wanted to get into basket weaving.

Leave a Reply

