Skip to content

Celtic Solstice Mystery Quilt from Quiltville

December 1, 2013

photo Part 1

Bonnie Hunter is offering a free mystery quilt along on her website http://www.quiltville.com The colors she chose reminded her of Ireland. My goal in the next year is to craft using supplies from my stash as much as possible. Bonnie chose blues (color of sky) oranges and yellows (for the solstice), greens (obviously for the lush greens of Ireland) and whites. Because I’m making this from my stash I’m using batiks (because I love, love, love batiks so I have more batiks than other cotton fabric) so my colors will be blues, off white (lighter backgrounds), browns (supplemented for the oranges), blues, greens and I’m still working on the yellows. I may have to supplement my yellows stash with a couple of yards from Oklahoma Quiltworks and I’m okay with that as long as the bulk of the fabric comes from my stash!

She released Part 1 Friday and I just finished Part 1, I’m making the king size, 111″ x 111″, so I made 140 brown triangle in blue square pieces that were 3 1/2″ x 3 1/2″; I also made 240 light background in blue square pieces! I used the tri-req tools which made the pieces very accurate! I’m also sewing this entire quilt on my Singer Featherweight sewing machine. I’m ready for Part 2!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2013 9:19 am

    The batiks will be lovely! Congratulations on getting them all done for the king size version.

  2. December 4, 2013 9:19 pm

    Clue one is looking good!

Leave a Reply

