Skip to content

My Most Memorable Christmas

December 11, 2016

My favorite Christmas memory was the year I was eight. My father was an electrical engineer and his company had been on strike for months and months. I remember my mother mixing up powered milk for our cereal and the atmosphere in the house was one with tension and anxiety. It was not a good time for our family of six children. But, in the late fall the union settled with the company and all was well in the household. I remember walking into the living room on Christmas morning to a wondrous sight under and around the Christmas tree! Six beautiful, gleaming bikes and tricycles! I knew mine was the shiny purple Schwinn bike with ‘banana’seat and white streamers and I was beside myself with excitement. Our mother was distraught when we got dressed to go test out our new bikes rather than open our other gifts and wait for her special breakfast she planned to cook! I rode up and down the street in the freezing cold air. I was such a tomboy and all the ‘foofoo’ on the bike was not for me so my brother helped me remove the basket and fenders so I could ramp and pull wheelies easily. My older brother and I took our bikes over to a construction site to jump the small hills that were the mounds of dirt from their work. When we returned my father met me at the door and told me that my mother was upset I had destroyed my bike! What? No! I made it better! How is a girl to jump and ramp her bike, pull wheelies and such with a basket and fenders in the way? What? So, this particular Christmas turned out to be remembered as the best/worst Christmas as I experienced joy and disappointment within a matter of hours as we put the bike back together!bike.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

